Loading ...
2022 News Senza categoria Slider

Liam Tancock confirmed as Chair of new LEN Athletes’ Committee


He will attend LEN Bureau and Congress in Cascais this weekend

As part of its ongoing governance reforms, LEN is delighted to announce that the inaugural Athletes’ Committee has now been confirmed, chaired by the retired British swimmer Liam Tancock. Liam will attend the Bureau meeting and the Congress taking place in Cascais this coming weekend, where arrangements for the first meeting of the committee will be finalised.

Otylia Jedrzejczjak, Bureau liaison Athletes Committee said:

After two rounds of requests to the Federations we have received a total of 22 nominations from 16 federations and we are delighted that we have started the process of giving our athletes a real voice in decision making so they can actively contribute to the future of our sport.

Liam Tancock said:

It’s a privilege to be the first chair of the LEN Athletes Committee. I am really looking forward to working alongside fellow athletes who all have valuable experience and insight from across the aquatic disciplines to help guide the group. I am excited to help form a strong foundation for this committee and ensure that the voice of the athletes is represented in the decision-making processes at a very exciting time for LEN European aquatics.

The LEN Bureau has appointed 7 athletes to form the initial Athlete Committee with representatives from all disciplines and with respect for the principle of gender equity. This group will now work on the procedure to select/enlarge the Committee in the future to ensure that the athletes also have a voice in the selection process.

The chair of the Athletes’ Committee is considered as a member of the LEN Bureau with full voting rights and, as part of the LEN Constitutional reform proposals, the Athletes’ Committee will be given two votes at Congress (as if the committee was a country).

The full composition of the LEN Athletes’ Commission is:

  • Chair – Liam Tancock GBR: Swimming.
  • Vice Chair – Milouschka Smit NED: Water Polo.
  • Secretary – Oliver Dingley IRL: Diving.
  • Members (all active athletes):
    • Emma Garcia ESP: Artistic Swimming,
    • Caroline Jousse FRA: Open Water
    • Andrii Govorov UKR: Swimming
    • Norbert Hosnyanszky HUN: Water Polo