Loading ...
European Open Water Ch. LEN Events News Open Water Swimming

European Open Water Swimming Championships, Hoorn – Day 3, Summary

Italy made it again, 4th team gold for Bruni

Hoorn (LEN) – A strong performance from the Italian crew of Rachele Bruni, Simone Ruffini and Federico Vanelli ended in an easy win in the 5km team event, held in a time-trial format at the European Open Water Championships in Hoorn in the Netherlands.

From the beginning they dictated a great pace and right at the half way they were well in the leading position with a gap of 11.8 seconds, ahead of the Germans. Over the second lap the “Squadra Azzurri” could not be stopped and they grabbed the gold in 55:59.3 minutes.

For the Italians it was the fourth victory in the team event since the 2008 inauguration. “We must say a big thank to Rachele Bruni, she was very strong. she was the secret for our victory”, Simone Ruffini stated. The praised female swimmer was member of all four winning Italian teams at the Europeans.

In the runner-up German team Rob Muffels was also part of last year’s world triumph, but the other two, Christian Reichert and Isabelle Haerle were missing from today’s race as they are busy with their Olympic preparations. Instead, Finnia Wunram and Andreas Waschburger joined the team in Hoorn. They came second at the end (56:37.0min), Wunram had a tough race after she had swum in the 5km race a day earlier, finishing runner-up as well.

For the first time Hungary managed to clinch a medal in this event (56:42.6min), courtesy of Eva Risztov, Mark Papp and Daniel Szekely, they managed to finish ahead the Brits who has the 5km women champion, Danielle Huskisson and the men’s bronze medallist Caleb Hughes in their line-up. The title-holder and host Dutch team fielded three youngsters and they didn’t have any chance to reach the podium this time.


Team Event (5km, time-trial)

  1. Italy   (Rachele Bruni, Simone Ruffini, Federico Vanelli) – 55:59.3 min
  2. Germany (Finnia Wunram, Andreas Waschburger, Rob Muffels) – 56:37.0 min
  3. Hungary (Eva Risztov, Mark Papp, Daniel Szekelyi)         – 56:42.6 min


For detailed results, free live streaming and more visit our webpage