Men’s Euro Cup, Qualification Round I – who’s playing and how to watch

water polo generic
LEN’s Euro Cup first qualification round takes place 13-16 October – LEN / Total Water Polo

LEN’s second-tier cup competition, the men’s Euro Cup kicks off this Thursday at four venues.  As the sport’s top powerhouses almost all entered three sides, the first qualification round already  promises fierce battles. 

Three teams from Italy, Greece, Hungary, Spain, Serbia and France (one from European champions  Croatia, their top three clubs are in the Champions League, though) – the ‘quality crowd’ is the  guarantee for a series of thrilling contests already in the first qualification round. 

Apart from Group A, the other three tournaments feature representatives of five strong nations and only  the first four can make the second round, so some excitements are guaranteed during the coming days. 

Those missing the cut in this round, can continue in the newly launched LEN Challenger Cup. The 16  qualifying teams will be drawn together with the 11 teams dropped from the second qualification round  in the Champions League. This is a pool of 27 sides, drawn into six groups (three with four teams and  three with five) and the top two will make the eight-finals. These 12 advancing clubs and the four losing  teams in the Champions League play-offs (QR III) will be paired to clash on a home-and-away basis for  the quarter-final berths. 

For livescoring, results and more, visit

Live Stream is going to be on the LEN website in the Euro Cup dedicated section

Euro Cup, QR I (13-16 October) 

Group A (Saloniki) 

VK Solaris (CRO), Ludwigsburg 08 (GER), Montpellier WP (FRA), CN Echyade (ESP), PAOK  Saloniki (GRE), ZV De Zaan (NED) 

Group B (Siracusa) 

Szolnoki Dozsa (HUN), Partizan Beograd (SRB), CC Ortigia (ITA), Ydraikos NC (GRE), Paix D’aix  (FRA) 

Group C (Kranj) 

CN Terrassa (ESP), Team Strasbourg (FRA), Budapesti Honved (HUN), Telimar Palermo (ITA), VK  Valis (SRB), Triglav Kranj (SLO) 

Group D (Barcelona) 

Trieste Pallanuoto (ITA), Apollon Smyrnis (GRE), CN Mediterrani (ESP), Crvena Zvezda (SRB),  BVSC-Zuglo (HUN), SKP Kosice (SVK)